Virat Kohli Wins ICC Men’s Player Of The Decade Award

Virat Kohli

Indian captain Virat Kohli has been named the best male cricketer of the decade at the ICC’s Decade of the Year award ceremony. Received the Sir Garfield Sobers Award. Besides, the ICC Cricketer of the Year award for one-day cricket is also entering his cabinet. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the best of the decade in one category.

After winning the award, Kohli said,”My goal has always been to contribute to the team’s victory. That’s what I try to do in every match. The numbers just show what you did on the field. Nothing more.”

 Apart from India’s Ravichandran Ashwin, Kohli was competed by England’s Joe Root, Australia’s Steve Smith, South Africa’s AB de Villiers and New Zealand’s Ken Williamson. But the last smile is from Kohli.

                      Read More:  Everyone from Ricky Ponting to Virender Sehwag is praising captain Ajinkya Rahane

Kohli has won the World Cup, the Champions Trophy and the first Test series on Australian soil in 2018-19 in the last decade. Personal achievements include a tough 183-run innings against Pakistan in the 2012 Asia Cup, a 360-run chase against Australia in Jaipur in 2013 and a century off 52 balls. He is also the only cricketer to score more than 10,000 runs in ODI cricket this decade. There are 39 centuries and 48 fifties.

🏅 ICC @CricketWorldCup win in 2011
🏆 ICC Champions Trophy win in 2013
🎖️ Test series win in Australia in 2018

Virat Kohli, the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade, talks about the last 10 glorious years of his career 🙌#ICCAwards

— ICC (@ICC) December 28, 2020

Dhoni has won the best ‘Spirit of Cricket’ award of the decade. Ian Bell was called up after being run out in the 2011 Nottingham Test. Judging by the spectators, that was the best cricketing moment of the decade.

Smith won the Test Cricketer of the Year award. However, Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan has caused the most stir. He has won the award for the best T20 cricketer of the decade, topping the list of famous and expensive stars.

Australia’s Ellyse Perry has dominated the women’s section. She has become the best female cricketer of the decade. He has also won the award for the best T20 and ODI cricketer of the decade.